Daily Intake 04.07.11

Haha! A good night’s sleep and I’m cured and back to 110% mental capacity! After what seems like an eternity I can get back into the swing of blogging. I’m glad a bunch of interesting stuff (to me at least) came up in the last few days to post about.

It’s not just blogging that I haven’t had the time or good health for – the new anime season has so far completely slipped by me. I’ve read impressions and seen screencaps, so I have a pretty good idea how things are coming along but I haven’t actually SEEN even a minute of one of the new anime. That’s something I intend to correct tonight, with Kamisama Memochou!. Actually, now that I think about it, it isn’t just the new season; the only anime from last season I’m up-to-date with is Kaiji II now ;_;. I haven’t even finished Astarotte yet!! Σ(゜д゜;)

On the upside, planning for Japan is going pretty well. We’re close to nailing down a place of accommodation, which is the last major obstacle.

If anyone has any thoughts on the new season anime so far, I’d like to hear them! Comment!

NEWS

⚫ As all of you probably know (and I know at least one of you attended!), this year’s Anime Expo is going down in Los Angeles. AX attracts around 45,000 attendees and lately has become known for its high-quality guest line-up. By all accounts, it seems everyone had a really great time. Again, I wish I could have gone! This year featured concerts for both Kalafina (Yuki Kajiura’s group), and Hatsune Miku (proper hologram style!). Without having gone I can tell that the Miku concert was one of the main highlights, and it seems it was highly successful. This Japanese blog post features a pile of great pictures (they chose a good costume set for her). I think we can now say Miku has definitely made it overseas! (except in France lol). Helping her make it were some pirates in the crowd, who streamed the majority of their concert from their phones. After the nico account of the streamer was deleted, a second one came up to cover the final part of the concert. Brave heroes!

Tetsuro Araki (director of Death Note & Highschool of the Dead) was also a guest, as well as a number of other high-profile seiyuu and staffers.

This figma (NSFW ads on site) of a character from Queens Blade Spiral Chaos is pretty fetching! I kinda want it even though I’m not a Queens Blade fan..

⚫ The latest episode of Doraemon featured a while pile of awesome, covert anime references! LINK
. Wishes tied to the tree for the Tanabata festival are messages from various anime characters!

Nagi from Kannagi wishes for her idol debut,
Touma from Index wishes for happiness
Jin-tan from Anohana wishes people won’t say he’s talking to himself,
Madoka from Madoka Magica wishes to become a magical girl,
Menma from Anohana wishes for everyone to see that flower again (may have translated that wrong because I don’t know how the anime ended up)

Pretty awesome stuff from Doraemon!

⚫ Someone has put together a list of average sales across all anime from different studios. This is how it looks:

全作品累計平均
28,738 12作品 京都アニメーション (KyoAni)
13,038 *3作品 PAworks
*8,525 18作品 シャフト (SHAFT)
*2,351 19作品 ZEXCS
*6,731 12作品 A-1 Pictures
*5,746 *9作品 セブン・アークス (Seven Arcs)
*4,900 *2作品 GoHands
*4,238 *2作品 シルバーリンク (Silver Link)
*4,129 *5作品 アスリード (Asread)
*3,780 *5作品 ディオメディア (Dio Media)
*3,705 10作品 feel.
*3,642 10作品 ブレインズ・ベース (Brains Base)
*3,432 11作品 アームス (Arms)
*2,730 *9作品 ノーマッド (Nomad)
*1,791 *6作品 動画工房 (Douga Koubou)
*1,751 *9作品 アートランド (Artland)
*1,146 *5作品 ufotable
*1,110 *1作品 ホワイトフォックス
**,700 *5作品 マングローブ (Manglobe)

I notice that JC Staff is missing, as is Gainax and BONES. That may be because they have such a great volume of works it would be too difficult to calculate. Still, this does demonstrate KyoAni is doing something right as a business. I’m surprised to see A-1 Pictures up their actually. I suppose it’s on the back of strong works like Black Butler, because it had some bombs from the Anime no Chikara project. Ufotable is shockingly low considering their work on Kara no Kyoukai. In fact, I would take these figures with several grains of salt if I were you. Still interesting.

⚫ Astarotte OVA episode has been announced for the 26th of August.

⚫ Yamakan tops a biglobe ranking for the director you can have faith in LINK
. The Yamakan trolls got onto this one early www

⚫ Humorous post comparing the fanbases of different anime LINK
. First one is for Ano Hana, second is for Madoka, and third is Keion. Haha, great troll of Keion fans right here!

⚫ A ranking of the top anime pilgrimage destinations has been put together! Haruhi comes in first, Higurashi’s town comes in second, and the Keion school building is third. Evangelion is fourth and the Lucky Star Shrine comes in after that. *takes down notes for my Japan trip*. (source)

⚫ Someone made up a chart of the number of animation directors used in JC Staff anime for the first and last episodes (LINK). I’m not going to reproduce the whole thing here, but a couple of observations:

    – The final episode of Railgun had the most: 13 for the final and 10 for the first episode.
    – Shana season 2 had 11 for the final.
    – Zero no Tsukaima had only 1 animation director for these episodes, for first second and first season.

⚫ More or less animation directors doesn’t necessarily translate to better quality or imply a worse schedule, but if you know about the episodes it can tell you something. I haven’t seen the final of either Shana II or Railgun, so I don’t know if there was a lot more animation than usual. It’s interesting to see ZnT only had one for those episodes though. That’s quite unusual. Most of the time you expect to see one or 2 animation directors, but for final eps it’s uncommon to have just one!

Core staff have been revealed for Ben To:

    Director: Shin Itagaki (Basquash)
    Series Composition: Kazuyuki Fudeyasu
    Music: Taku Iwasaki
    Character Design: Katsuzo Hirata

Shin Itagaki is a pretty cool animator, and I appreciated his ambition on Basquash even if it didn’t pan out, and Taku Iwasaki is an excellent composer who creates some memorable music.


 
 

GALLERY

 


 

VIDEOS

 

New Nichijou OP

Not sure what to think of this.. the visuals are great, as you would expect from KyoAni, but the song … isn’t a song?


 

20 thoughts on “Daily Intake 04.07.11

  1. hyadain’s songs are always that weird (him being a nico composer), think back to the likes of Mitsudomoe OPs as well.
    as of the new season anime, I only watched Sacred Seven so far: Nice action sequences and visuals. Some wtf settings. Seem to be lacking chemistry. Lots of maids & mecha. Average first ep. Compare to T&B it just doesn’t have a personality.

  2. So far I have only seen Kamisama no Memochou and have to say its good. Alice reminds a lot of Victoria from Gosick. I didn’t expect it to go that dark. Defiantly no fanservice Moe Anime. Animation was good as well as the seiyu they picked for Alice. Main is a bit bland but I think that is extra so he develops in the Anime.

    The other is Ro Kyu Bu which looks to be better then Softtenni because the fanservice is not so “in your face”. Animation was great especially how they played basketball.

    And could you please activate a mobil theme its bloody hard to comment and the pictures aren’t shown properly.

    That’s all glad you are back xD

    1. I watched Kamisama Memochou last night and really enjoyed it. As you said, surprisingly dark, and the oddbal cast of characters is very interesting. Somehow I got a strong Durarara vibe out of it. Imagine if Alice & Izaya were on opposite sides of a case!!

      Thanks for the heads up about the mobile theme. I think if I enable the mobile theme the images in the gallery won’t display properly either (and unfortunately wp won’t let me edit ccs). I’ll give it a look though.

    1. Ah thanks. It said it was from IM@S on the site I found it too but for some reason my brain just wrote Mayo Chiki when I was doing the captions ┐(‘~`;)┌

  3. OMFG… I KNOW THE 2 GUYS FROM THAT MORNING RESCUE PIC… Lets just say that one of them is from the USA army that we posted pic up from befor ^^ and they say “hello”

    1. Oh I for got to say. This season just started so I just watched Ikoku Meiro. Yune is too cute for me,if you are looking for cute girl try this one.

  4. So far I’ve only seen the pre-airing fro Blood-C and Sacred 7. Sadly Blood-C 1 was pretty underwhelming just in terms of the events of the episode, art and animation were nice but everything else was just bleh =(
    Same with Sacred 7, great art and animation but the whole episode still felt lacking until the last 5 mins or so.

    1. Yeah I don’t like the sound of Blood-C very much. It’s a real shame. Hopefully Kenji Kamiyama will do another anime for I.G soon! (excluding SSS 3D).

  5. Glad you’re back and healthier than ever! AX was amazing, I’ll have pictures and a write-up done in a couple days to share with everyone. Need to catch up on this new season as well, sooo behind coz of the trip.

    The Astarotte OVA comes out on my birthday, ha, great birthday present!

  6. You will enjoy your Morkie and that he or she’s going to be a loving an affiliate your loved ones. if movie UK then examine the Kennel Club’s website, if you have
    USA then American Kennel Club’s website can do it for you. The King Charles Cavalier needs being handled as being the family members. Several states have devote force “puppy sale laws” that will make it unlawful to trade an underage puppy. With the newest an entire world of myspace, facebook, and blogs that you are certain to find them which enable it to see what other people are saying.

Leave a Reply

