Daily Intake 05.04.11

⚫ The upcoming anime Nurarihyon no Mago 2nd season is confirmed to start broadcasting in July (Summer season)! (source)

⚫ Hanasaku Iroha BD1 reached the 35th spot in the DVD bestsellers ranking on Amazon last night! This bodes quite well! A lot of comments on 2channel seem to put Hanasaku at around 5000 sales. I’m hoping to see it sell more than that. Over 10,000 please! (souce)

⚫ The first PV for the upcoming anime Nekogami Yaorozu has been put up on the official website (hit the button that says PV at the bottom right of the picture frame). It’s still early days in production I’d say, but I reckon this will be funny/cute as hell!

⚫ This month’s Dengeki Anime Style The light novel, ‘C3 -C Cube-‘ is getting an anime adaptation! There’s currently a manga running in Dengeki Daioh. Here’s the premise (via MAL).

    A school battle action & love comedy with ecchi elements. Yachi Haruaki is a high school boy and naturally resistant to curses. His father, Honatsu, sends him cursed instruments called “Worse” to try to break this. One day, Haruaki receives a black cube from Honatsu. During the night, he encounters a naked silver haired girl stealing rice crackers. She is the human-form of the black cube, an instrument of torture called “Fear in Cube”. Haruaki and the girl ‘Fear’ fight together against other ‘Worse’ instruments and their owners using Fear’s 32 mechanisms of torture.

Sounds like a very cliched light novel but could be fun.

 


 

 
Hanasaku Iroha

Before I begin, I have an important announcement to make: HanaSaku Iroha ROCKS!! Let me just stress that something has to be pretty damned fantastic for me to charge up the enthusiasm required for a capital ROCKS and two exclamation marks. If you’ve been following my blog for a while, you might have caught on to the fact that I was anticipating this show very highly. It seemed to me that this was a change for the still-young studio, P.A Works to break out of its shell and go all-out on an original endeavor. Judging by the first episode (and I hope to god this quality continues), this is the anime to really put the studio on the map. Their work on past anime has already been great (True Tears, CANAAN, and to a lesser extent, Angel Beats!), but this has one has the aura of a genuine master-work. The animation is superb, the art incredible, and the story feels fresh and absorbing. All elements of the production combine to give us an anime that doesn’t seem to belong on TV.

It’s also an anime beaming with character, so far mostly thanks to Kanae Itou’s stellar performance as the cute and unfortunate Ohana! Ohana is an excellent protagonist, both enjoyable and believable. It isn’t just P.A Works who have an impression to make here, but also Kanae Itou. I’ve been an avid fan of hers since her first role in Shugo Chara. Most people recognise her as Saten from Railgun. But this is easily her most sophisticated role yet, and this is her chance to be THE star in something successful and critically acclaimed. This anime gives a good mix of personality, humour, drama and moe vibes. I’d be surprised if there were many people who didn’t enjoy it.

But before I gush any further, I’d better hold back until we see the rest of the episodes!


 

Ore-tachi ni Tsubasa wa Nai

Now here’s one anime I didn’t expect to enjoy..The impression I had of this in my head was totally off the mark. Here I had dismissed it as a mediocre adaptation of a typical elegant-romance VN, when it turns out to be a (very) quirky… you know what, I can’t even think of how to describe it. I’m not sure what I just watched. There is fanservice, as my superb choice of screencaps will attest to. There’s also an element of romance and drama. But the thing that really sells it is its unique weirdness and sense of humour. This episode has a very loose narrative and introduces a wildly varied cast of characters, such as cute highschool girls, a party-animal cafe bar -tender, and a street-wise ronin. I found it very hard to keep track of them and actually understand what was happening, but that didn’t dampen the entrainment value. The mixture of gags and ecchi is excellent, and the characters are all refreshingly eccentric. And rather than the elegance I expected, it is actually unusually crass and mature, which is unusual for anime.

2 thoughts on “Daily Intake 05.04.11

  1. I haven’t watched either one yet, I know blasphemy, but the your praise Iroha and the bottom right most screencap of Ore-tachi sold me on that show! ha. Can’t wait.

Leave a Reply

