Sakuga MAD January 2011 Notes

1. by Animeblue

Anime in order of appearance (as posted by Animeblue)

1. Dragon Crisis! (ドラゴンクライシス!)
2. Yumekui Merry (夢喰いメリー )
3. Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica |(魔法少女まどか★マギカ )
4. Tegami Bachi REVERSE (テガミバチ REVERSE)
5. A Certain Magical Index II (とある魔術の禁書目録(インデックス)Ⅱ)
6. Dragon Crisis! (ドラゴンクライシス!)
7. Certain Magical Index II (とある魔術の禁書目録(インデックス)Ⅱ)
8. NARUTO Shippuden (ナルト 疾風伝)
9. Yumekui Merry (夢喰いメリー )
10. Mahou Shoujo Madoka Magica |(魔法少女まどか★マギカ )
11. Kore wa Zombie Desu ka? ( これはゾンビですか?)
12. NARUTO Shippuden (ナルト 疾風伝)
13. STAR DRIVER Kagayaki no Takuto( STAR DRIVER 輝きのタクト)
14. Yumekui Merry (夢喰いメリー )
15. IS Infinite Stratos ( IS インフィニット・ストラトス)

It’s the end of the month and time to look back on what animation highlights January bought us! So far we’ve had a good start to 2011, and I think the year will have a lot more in store for us (especially with the increased number of movie anime being produced).

⚫ The cuts from the Yumekui Merry OP are really nice. That OP had some great animators involved, including Hironori Tanaka, Hiroshi Tomioka, and Ken Ootsuka. The cut where Merry is sinking into the water is likely done by Hironori Tanaka, the part where the children are running was likely Maru Kanako.

⚫ The Madoka Magica cut that follows was certainly done by Shaft’s star animator, Gen’ichirou Abe. Mami ;_;

⚫ I was surprised to see those Index parts in there.. but that’s mainly because I skipped that episode after becoming bored with that arc’s story and animation. I guess I shouldn’t have. The effect animation is quite good.

⚫ After that is Dragon Crisis. This sequence is really great, and easily better than I expected from Dragon Crisis (mind you the only episode I watched did have a couple of decent moments of animation). I would like to know who did that part. If anyone can tell me or at least tell me which episode it was from, that’d be great!

⚫ After the Naruto bit is Yumekui Merry, episode 2. It’s really funny that although the rest of that episode had pretty bad animation (sorry, that was ep 3 that had poor animation), this one part, which was an anime-parody airing on TV inside the show (a meta anime!), had the standout animation. Actually, that happens fairly frequently. This part was likely done by Hiroshi Tomioka.

⚫ The Kore Zombie OP sequence has some nice fast, fluid animation!

⚫ As for Star Driver, episode 15 featured some nice animation. I translated the findings of the 2ch sakuga thread and posted them on the 4chan sakuga thread, but I’ll repeat them here. In the first part of this MAD, the first missile circus was Shingo Fujii , and the second part was Yasushi Muraki . The mecha fight that follows is Hiroshi Tomioka (he’s been busy this month!). Funny that Hironori Tanaka’s charge in the second half of the battle wasn’t included, I quite liked it, despite some dodgy smoke animation at one point.

⚫ The Yumekui fight sequence from episode 1, which I really enjoyed, was done by Yoshihiko Umakoshi, famous for his work on Mushishi, Heartcatch Precure and Doremi. He may not be my favourite animator from a technical point of view, but I think this guy has a good creative streak. By the way, episode 3 of Yumekui Merry featured animation from Sayo Aoi, who I’ve been interested in since her episode of Ookami-san (the pool episode). I don’t see a sakuga wiki page for her.. I wonder why she doesn’t have one 0.0.

⚫ I find it interesting that the Infinite Stratos segments were included, given that their technical achievements are mainly in the field of CG. But I guess there are a few glimpses of decent effect animation..

⚫ This MAD is missing animation from the recent Heartcatch Precure episodes, which were sakuga highlights of the month. Also, I felt like Fractale should have had a presence. But it’s generally pretty well done, and you can’t expect one person to be able to cover all anime!
 

There was also another MAD this month (although not as well done and inclusive):

2. by mochihan3

3 thoughts on “Sakuga MAD January 2011 Notes

  1. I’m confused as to why the anime parody cut from episode 2 of Yumekui Merry was included over the 1-2 min cut closer to the end with the girl and her dream demon being attacked by another dream demon. I’m pretty sure it was also Hiroshi Tomioka and it was excellent.

    1. Ah, yeah I was getting 2 confused with 3. Episode 3 was the one with bad animation. You’re right, the fight sequence at the end of two was quite good, and probably should have been included..

      Thanks!

Leave a Reply

