Fractale 03: Notes + Gallery

I’m thankful that the Fractale production committee reconsidered their takedown of Funimation’s simulcast for this anime, because it meant I could chuck out my boycott of the anime and start watching it again, and it just so happens that I’ve wound up really loving it too! Fractale is well on its way to being the anime of the season for me, which I certainly did not expect after the relatively dull first episode. I’m not sure how they’re going down with other anime fans, but episodes 2 & 3 have really got me hooked!

⚫ One thing I noticed in episodes 2 and 3 (especially in 2) was the animation! I actually did not expect this anime to feature a lot of animation (I figured the drawings would be good but that there wouldn’t be a lot of them). That is because Yamakan has previously voiced his dislike of using excessive cost for this purpose and this is a risky venture for him. But I was really happy to see how well the second episode moved, and the extra animation was essential in bringing the restless character of Nessa to life! I’m hoping to see Yuusuke Tanaka as animation director in more episodes (or even just key animation). That episode also benefited from Mamoru Kanbe’s storyboard and directing, who shows much better skill than Yamakan.

⚫ Episode 3 was also very well produced, with strong animation, interesting layouts and a good pace. At this rate, my only problem with Fractale’s production quality is Masako Tashiro’s character designs, which still feel far too bland, especially when you remember how good the original designs are. It’s comparable to what happened to Mel Kishida’s designs on Soranowoto.

⚫ Nessa really adds a spark to the show that was missing in episode 1. Her bright, upbeat and humorous presence has become a really integral part of the show, far outweighing the ‘enigmatic’ Phryne. A big part of Nessa’s success is Kana Hanazawa, who has really run with this role as a way to break out of her usual soft-spoken characters. Nessa is forceful, and irresistible. I just love her! I’m sorry to say but I would happily do ecchi things with her too~ Her cuteness is just at that level.

⚫ The show in general has really found a good, unique charm. It’s mildly philosophical, character-driven and has an underlying streak of adventure. Mind you, this may well change after the events of episode 3’s climax. Actually, that encounter between the ministry and the Lost Millennium throws a lot into question. While we all agree that brainwashing is bad, the tone of the Lost Millennium’s attack is very unsettling, especially given their casual attitude towards it. It makes it a little difficult to support their cause.

 

Ratings


MOE: ⚫⚫⚫⚫⚪
ERO: ⚪⚪⚪⚪⚪
GAR: ⚫⚪⚪⚪⚪
LOL: ⚫⚫⚪⚪⚪


 

2 thoughts on “Fractale 03: Notes + Gallery

  1. Glad to see you’re enjoying Fractale as much as I am. It certainly has gotten better since the first episode and like you pointed out, Nessa certainly helps provide some energy. Fractale certainly is becoming a pretty fun show to watch, so I hope it keeps up with the pace set by the second and third episodes.

    1. Indeed! The fallout from the violent clash this episode will be interesting. Hope it doesn;t get too bogged down in drama though!

Leave a Reply

