2010 December Sakuga MAD Notes

Youtube user, Animeblue has been doing great work for the the last year composing highlight animation sequences from anime for each month! I’m genuinely impressed by his comprehensiveness – I don’t think I’ve noticed anything notable he’s missed or disagree with his choices. So, here’s the latest entry, for the month of December! I can’t d embed it (thanks to Sony’s anal copyright attitude), but you can view the original on twitvid here. Here are some quick thoughts on the video”

December marked the end of a season, and so bought with it a few climactic moments!

⚫ The first clip is from Milky Holmes episode 12, and I can almost guarantee that it was the key animation work of Seiya Numata. He is of course credited with key animation that episode, and his style is very obvious. I’ve been a fan of Seiya Numata for a while now, especially for the episodes he was animation director on of Kannagi (episode 2) and Toradora (episode 16). He’s a pretty famous young animator, and he lives by the code of his inspiration, Yoshinori Kanada (who I write about here), with varied and individual animation styles. I like this clip, and the big trail of fiery smoke is a clear throwback to Yoshinori Kanda’s animation on Genma Taisen (the famous fire-dragon sequence). As was noted in the NHK documentary on Yoshinori Kanada, which actually profiled Seiya Numata, he’s already slipped in a reference to that sequence, with a segment on 2×2=Shinobuden (see this blog for details). The other Milky Holmes clips also look like his work, except:

⚫ The clip at 3.28 looks like it is the work of Tatsuya Yoshihara, who I’ve discussed on this blog before (he was animation director on episode 6!). I’m not sure if this is from episode 12 though (any Milky Holmes watchers here?)

⚫ At the 1.40 mark we have a clip from Sora no Otoshimono episode 11, which I talked about in an earlier blog post. At least the first half of the clip included in this MAD is from the prolific and talented Hironori Tanaka. As usual, his high-framerate and distinctive way of drawing hair give him away! It’s not his best work, but it gave Sora no Otoshimono at least a little impact to its action scene!

⚫ I’m surprised to see some of the best stuff from December was from Soredemo by studio SHAFT. I haven’t been following that anime, so unfortunately I’m a bit out of the loop. I’ve also fallen behind on Star Driver, which continues to provide excellent animation for its mecha battle sequences.

12 thoughts on “2010 December Sakuga MAD Notes

  1. Star Driver’s mecha animation sequences have been a little flat for me, sadly. Jun Arai’s sequence on episode 13 was especially jarring, even more than his work on #3. Yasushi Muraki’s and I think Hiroshi Tomioka’s episode was great, though.

    1. It certainly doesn’t provide the exhilaration that Brotherhood’s action animation did, but Star Driver’s animation is still the most consistently interesting of shows airing now, I think. I agree on Jun Arai. He’s okay in small doses, like his bit in 6. I liked Yoshimichi Kameda’s contributions to that episode too! I’m only up to 8, sadly.

      Hiroshi Tomioka is always good! Thanks for the comment.

      1. Oh there’s no question about that. BONES is one of the few studios who put out consistently well-produced shows from episode to episode. It’s just that you expect something more from them, especially when compared to Brotherhood’s totally exhilarating action animation. Yoshimichi Kameda’s episode and Hiroshi Tomioka/Muraki’s episode are two of the best.

        A shame Yutaka Nakamura hasn’t been back since his short but sweet sequence in #1. He does have a new Bones show coming up, though.

        1. Guess we should consider Brotherhood the exception, not the standard! XD I’m very much looking forward to the movie.

          Oh, I heard about Yutaka Nakamura doing a show, but I forgot which one it is.. Should be good. I’m interested to see the staff of No. 6 too.

          1. Yeah, Brotherhood really was excellent in a lot of levels. I’m looking forward to the movie myself…

            Sure, it’s fine with me. I think your blog is good too–in fact your blog was one of the first aniblogs I frequented back then, hahaha.

Leave a Reply

