Star Driver Episode 6

Ratings


MOE: ⚫⚪⚪⚪⚪
ERO: ⚫⚪⚪⚪⚪
GAR: ⚫⚫⚪⚪⚪
LOL: ⚫⚪⚪⚪⚪


 

I won’t hesitate to call this the best episode of Star Driver yet! It could just be that it’s coming off the bank of last week’s pretty silly offerings, but I found the characterisation and story this week to be much more compelling than it has been. My reaction to Star Driver has generally been a dull bemusement, but, even if the plot backbone is as confusing as ever, I actually found myself compelled this time around. And, of course, BONES added their usual high-grade flavour of great production qualities. Overall, it was great fun.


⚫ This episode was directed and storyboarded by Toshinori Narita, who has done some great stuff for Soul Eater and Mushishi. I have to commend him on this one, the layouts this episode really had a natural yet cinematic feel to them, and he did especially well capturing the dramatic tone of that final scene. Where other episodes felt flambouyant, this one had more of an epic feel.

⚫ The dynamic between Sugata, Takuto and Wako is finally starting to become interesting. When the series began I thought they were setting up a cliche love-triangle situation, but things have become a lot more complex between them, and their dynamic is an interesting fusion of friendship, tension and romance. I wonder if this series will try and become a reverse-Macross series.

⚫ I wonder what will happen to Sugata? Takuto’s final line suggests that Sugata does indeed fall into a coma. If that’s the case, it definitely sets up Wako and Takuto.

⚫ Wako and Takuto’s date was pretty sweet! The more time these two share on screen, the more I start to appreciate the chemistry of their characters. It may be early days, but they just seem made for each other, really.

 


This episode was graced (as usual), by some talented animators pulling out the stops for the action sequences! Because I’m not the big mecha fan and prefer character fights, this episode was probably my favourite episode from an action point of view. I was especially happy to see one of my favourite new animators back again: Yoshimichi Kameda.

Yoshimichi Kameda (亀田 祥倫 )

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Kameda did a lot of great work for BONES on FMA:B, including some of the most memorable fight sequences. The shading that made him so distinctive in FMA was clearly toned down for Star Driver (it probably wouldn’t look good on a galactic pretty boy), but his jagged poses made his cuts relatively easy to pick. The video above is the segment I think belongs to Kameda. I hope to see him back again.
 

Jun Arai (亀田 祥倫 )

Vodpod videos no longer available.

Jun Arai has been involved a lot with Star Driver. He’s not known for his great movement but for doing cool drawings. He has a really striking style that can look really great. Star Driver has used his skills well so far (in moderation). I think he didn’t really add much to this episode though. It got me interested, but that’s only because I’m interested in animators, but in terms of whether it actually added anything, I’m not so sure.
 


 

Leave a Reply

